Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

Honeyed Silver Recollection

The Making Of A Song
2

black and brown acoustic guitar
Where do songs come from? Photo by Rachmaddian Shotz on Unsplash

I’m not one to be overly precious about what I share online. I vet my own offerings, and often remove things from the ‘net (yes, that’s still a viable term) when I believe they no longer serve me or anybody else, but I also share a lot of unfettered pieces of work without reservation - especially when it comes to music.

My solo music work is always raw. It’s rarely polished but always completely sincere. Perhaps that’s why I’m never afraid to share it for whomever might want to listen.

Honesty in expression is crucial to my existence.

Recently, though, I realized that I never share process videos; ie, how do I actually come up with songs? Nobody but me really cares, but since you, gentle soul, are subscribed to this publication, you must possess at least a fleeting interest.

So I offer you this unassuming glimpse into my world as a songwriting lady. I usually sit on a couch or bed in broad daylight and work on songs, but on this night I was moved to turn on a purple light, plug in a microphone and sit on an ottoman (fancy!) whilst I took some poetry and tried to pair it with some chords.

It was the first time I had sung out loud this particular melody I had in my head, paired with these specific words. I was delighted with how the three components - guitar, voice, and lyrics - sounded together. I also had no idea what would come next for this piece of music. I still don’t.

It’s the most recent in about a dozen and a half “solo” songs I’ve written over the last two years, and it sounds like it belongs. It’ll become something. It’ll go someplace.

For now, it’s just … here.

2 Comments
Put Your Face In It
Put Your Face In It
Authors
Jackie Stanley